Contact Us: [email protected]

Entry Categories

For 2018 there are likely to be eight main categories for which one winner and one highly commended project can be awarded at the discretion of the panel of judges. Categories will be confirmed at shortlisting. The criteria for the Wood Awards is based on design, craftsmanship, quality of installation. Neither size nor value are taken into account, except where special attention is given to small projects for the Small Project category.

All projects entered must be in the UK (Great Britain & Northern Ireland), completed in the last two years and not entered before.

It is free to enter and you may submit any number of projects.

Building Categories

Commercial & Leisure

This category is open to projects such as museums, theatres, leisure centres, shops, hotels, bars, restaurants and offices. Past winners have included Stihl Treetop Walkway by Glenn Howells Architects and Rievaulx Abbey Visitor Centre and Museum by Simpson Brown Architects.

Education & Public Sector

Examples might include schools, universities, government buildings, hospitals and religious buildings. Past winners have included Stanbrook Abbey by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios and Maggie’s Oldham by dRMM.


This category includes fitted interiors in all types of buildings. Examples might include fitted kitchens, bespoke staircases and hotel lobbies. Previous winners have included The Portledge Rear Staircase by Witcher Crawford Architects and Designers and Coastal House, Devon by 6a architects.


This category includes privately funded projects for non-commercial clients. Examples include residential property, new builds and extensions. Past winners have included Contour House by Sanei Hopkins Architects and Hampshire Passivhaus by Ruth Butler Architects.

Small Project

This category includes any small project, however funded. Examples include studios, garden buildings or designed projects for special event. Past winners have included The TWIST by Emergent Technologies and Design, Architectural Association and Feilden Fowles Studio by Feilden Fowles.

Furniture & Product Categories


Single pieces or ensembles from individual designer/makers, small workshops or larger manufactures can be entered. Pieces entered into the bespoke category must be a unique single piece or commissioned work. Anyone involved may enter any piece(s) with the permission of the current owner. Fitted furniture must be located in the UK. Past winners have included Pantori by Steph Leake and Jack Badger Ltd and, most recently, Time & Texture Installation by Eleanor Lakelin.

Production Made

Pieces or ensembles from individual designer/makers, small workshops or larger manufactures can be entered. Projects entered in the Production Made category must have been made with batch production in mind, they do not necessarily need to be in production at the moment. Anyone involved may enter any piece(s) with the permission of the designer and manufacture. Past winners have included Stretch Extending Dining Table by Simon Pengelly, Planks Collection by Max Lamb and Benchmark, and Narin Chair by David Irwin for Case.

Student Designer

This category is open to anyone currently in education or who has left education in the past 12 months. There are two cash prizes for this category, £1000 for the winner and £500 for the people’s choice. Past winners have included Michael Stevenson from the Building Crafts College for Geometry and Mark Laban from Central St Martins for Rustic Stool 1.0.

Other Awards

Structural Award

A Structural Award is given at the judges discretion to a project that has a worth structure. Past winners have included Maggie’s at the Robert Parfett Building by Foster+Partners and The Smile by Alison Brooks Architects.

Existing Building Award

The Existing Building category was dropped in 2016 and is now given as an award to a worthy conservation, restoration or reuse project. Past winners have included The Studio by Bradley Van Der Straeten Architects and Ansty Plum by Coppin Dockray .

Judges Special Award

The judges retain the right to award a Judges’ Special Award to any entered project that is worthy of merit. Past winners have included Endless Stair by dRMM Architects and BSkyB Believe in Better Building by Arup.

Mears Group Gold Award

The Mears Group Gold Award is winner of winners and chosen by the judges from the all category and award winners. Previous recipients include  Maggie’s at the Robert Parfett Building by Foster+Partners and Coastal House, Devon by 6a architects.

If you are interested in entering the upcoming Wood Awards please click here